Problem with a "if" and a multiple modes

Hello guys, i need to do a program as homeworks and basically no one told me how this language works, i'm fairly new to programming so i'm in need of help.

I need to make a program with a button that controls 4 different modes and there's a potentiometer too

I think i've located the problem, i wrote it after a // in the program (you may not need to read the stuff after the modes and stuff)

I really really hope you can help me out

This is the code :

int led12=12; int led11=11; int led10=10; int led9=9; int led8=8; int switch7=7; int pot0=A0; int compteur=1; int val=0; int etat = HIGH; int DerniereDate = 0;

void setup() { pinMode(led12,OUTPUT); pinMode(led11,OUTPUT); pinMode(led10,OUTPUT); pinMode(led9,OUTPUT); pinMode(led8,OUTPUT); pinMode(switch7,INPUT_PULLUP); Serial.begin(9600); }

void loop() { if (digitalRead(switch7==LOW)){ //Problem around here i think delay(20); compteur=compteur+1; } if (compteur==5){ delay(20);compteur=1; } if (compteur==1){ delay(20);mode1(); } if (compteur==2){ delay(20);mode2(); } if (compteur==3){ delay(20);mode3(); } if (compteur==4){ delay(20);mode4(); } }

void mode1(){ digitalWrite(led12,LOW); digitalWrite(led11,LOW); digitalWrite(led10,LOW); digitalWrite(led9,LOW); digitalWrite(led8,LOW); }

void mode2(){ digitalWrite(led12,HIGH); digitalWrite(led11,HIGH); digitalWrite(led10,HIGH); digitalWrite(led9,HIGH); digitalWrite(led8,HIGH); }

void mode3(){ val=analogRead(pot0); unsigned long ActuelMillis = millis(); if (ActuelMillis - DerniereDate > val) {DerniereDate = ActuelMillis; if (etat == LOW) {etat = HIGH;} else {etat = LOW;}

digitalWrite(led12,etat); digitalWrite(led11,etat); digitalWrite(led10,etat); digitalWrite(led9,etat); digitalWrite(led8,etat); } }