Problem with actuators.

Hello
I have a problem with synchronization of two actuators. They has to raise or lower one platform (electric linear actuator with potentiometers, controlled by two H-bridges and one Arduino Mega). One actuator is a master, another one is a slave( follower). To raise actuator it is required to press and keep one button, and to lower actuators we need to press and keep another button. Regardless of the weight that is put on the platform, slave must be always on the same position as master (platform has to be leveled). For this moment i have a code, which reads values from potentiometers of two actuators and after that, by comparison, tries to position slave in one level with master. However, its not a perfect method, because there is no continuously regulation of speed (PWM) and also the inertia of the actuator causes that the slave doesnt stop immediately at the same point as the master. Im new with programming, so here is my question: what do i need to change in my code to make a smooth regulation of speed (when slave is near the position of the master, he should start braking and eventually stop at the same level) I know that the best way to achieve that is to use PID regulator. However, my programming level is not so advanced, so is there any chance that some of you may help?
I’ve been searching a lot how to implement PID in my code, however there were no good resolutions for me :confused:
Thanks (and sorry for my english!)

code:
int wartosc; //value of master potentiometer
int wartosc1; //–/-- slave
const int buttonPos = 42; //button for extension of actuator
const int buttonPos2 = 43; //button for retract of actuator
int wartosc_pop; //value of pot. which will be sclaed (master)
int wartosc1_pop; //value of pot. which will be scaled(slave)
void setup() {
pinMode (2,OUTPUT); //PWM master
pinMode (3,OUTPUT); //PWM follower
pinMode (22,OUTPUT); //extension master
pinMode (23,OUTPUT); //retract master