Problem with Arduino MIDI decoder

Hi everyone.
I wondered if anyone can help me with this problem.
I am having difficulty getting the MIDI Decoder by Nick Gammon to work properly.
https://www.gammon.com.au/forum/?id=12746
I am relatively new to programming and so would love some pointers as to what I am doing wrong please.

I have created the circuit and I am sending midi out Via Abelton. I get messages out on the Serial Monitor, however, the data appears to be in the wrong order.
the Note names appear to change even though all I am doing is looping one note.
when I change the velocity, the note name changes. If I change the note, the velocity changes.

On the surface it looks like a simple swapping of the data but I dont know where this change is occurring.
I have attached 3 pictures. one of the loop without change, one where I have changed the velocity but the note data changes and one where I change the Note but the velocity changes.

Any help would be very appreciated.
IDE 1.8.7
Arduino Uno 3

You need to post your code, because that is wrong.

Hi Grumpy_Mike

I am adding the code as an attachment because it exceeds the 9000 character limit if I post it here.
But I copied and pasted it directly from here

Nick Gammon Midi Decoder.txt (14.1 KB)

But I copied and pasted it directly from here

No you didn't, you altered it, and you altered it so as to break it. The textual output you show differs from
what that code can produce.

Post your code, we ask this for very good reason...

MarkT:
No you didn't, you altered it, and you altered it so as to break it. The textual output you show differs from
what that code can produce.

Post your code, we ask this for very good reason...

Hi Mark
I am sorry you believe that altered the code.

I did not at any point use a text editor or any 3rd medium between moving the code from the web-page and the IDE.