problem with Digital Read Serial

im new to arduino !! i setup the digital read circuit as shown in tutorials ! the TX led is always on even if i didnt push the button !!! i also tried making an LED light if when some push button is pressed ! but also it acts like the button is always pressed !!

in another way when i configure a pin to be an INPUT it always reads HIGH without doing anything to it !!

is my UNO board defective ??

Can you post your code and tell us how your circuit is wired? It sounds like you have a floating input.

i used exactly the code from examples menu !! also i wired the circuit as shown in here http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/DigitalReadSerial with exactly the same resistance !

for the other circuit i used a code just like that !

int button = 2; int led = 12;

void setup() { pinMode(led,OUTPUT); pinMode(button,INPUT); }

void loop()

if (digitalRead(button)==HIGH) { digitalWrite(led,HIGH); delay(5000); } else { digitalWrite(led,LOW); }

your code misses some {} the code below should reflect the state of the button Do you have an external pullup/pulldown resistor connected to the button?

The leds should instantaneous follow the button

int button = 2;
int led = 12;

int state
void setup()
{
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(button, INPUT);
}

void loop()
{
  if (digitalRead(button)==HIGH)
  {
    digitalWrite(led, HIGH);
  }
  else
  {
    digitalWrite(led,LOW);
  }
}

Maybe the switch is wired wrong - try rotating the switch 90 degrees.

still not working guys .. i tell u what exactly happening now !! i upload code to board ... i connect LED with pin 12 and GND ........ then when i just approach my finger to pin 2 without even touching the black insulation .. THE LED LIGHTS UP !!!!!!!! im going crazy guys !!

else im not connecting any external power source ... just the usb cable !!!!

another question is there any difference between the 3 GND pins on the Arduino Board !