problem with display string in MD_Parola multi zone

Dear all,
I am pretty new at arduino and in some project I need to display a string on dot matrix LEDs, the issue is that i need to show every character in a separate max device, so i decide to use MD_Parola zone capability and define a zone for each max device then display every character on a zone. the string must be read from another arduino (both boards are UNO) via I2C_Anything library.
The problem is that I can’t get any thing on the display if I change the source of “P.displayZoneText” to the string. I have tried to many ways and read the Parola A to Z instructions, they were helpful but I can’t start my display. even if I try to display a static string, still nothing happens.
I thing I need to change something in loop function and I have trying for lots of hours but not succeed.
here is the code:

#include <I2C_Anything.h> //to communicate with another uno
#include <Wire.h>
#include <MD_Parola.h>
#include <MD_MAX72xx.h>
#include <SPI.h>
#define I2C_SLAVE_ADDRESS 8
#define HARDWARE_TYPE MD_MAX72XX::GENERIC_HW
#define MAX_DEVICES 4
#define CLK_PIN   13
#define DATA_PIN  11
#define CS_PIN    10

MD_Parola P = MD_Parola(HARDWARE_TYPE, CS_PIN, MAX_DEVICES);

char str[5];//string to display 

volatile boolean haveData = false;//for communication
void setup()
{
  P.begin(4);//here I set 4 zones for 4 characters, every character a zone
  P.setZone(0, 0, 0);
  P.setZone(1, 1, 1);
  P.setZone(2, 2, 2);
  P.setZone(3, 3, 3);
  P.displayZoneText(3, str[0], PA_CENTER, 25, 0, PA_PRINT, PA_NO_EFFECT);//this segment shows nothing I send letter "T" in order to complete the "TEST"
  P.displayZoneText(2, "E", PA_CENTER, 25, 0, PA_PRINT, PA_NO_EFFECT);//this works fine
  P.displayZoneText(1, "S", PA_CENTER, 25, 0, PA_PRINT, PA_NO_EFFECT);//this works fine
  P.displayZoneText(0, "T", PA_CENTER, 25, 0, PA_PRINT, PA_NO_EFFECT);//this works fine