Problem with Master-Slave, I2C and MCP23017

Hello,
I am having an issue with 2 arduinos communicating together via I2C and using the MCP23017 on the slave one.

Setup:
MASTER: MEGA 2560
SLAVE: Arduino UNO

So first off, it kinda works except for 1 thing.
The whole point of this is that the slave will be controlling 24 relays. Hence why I will be using a MCP23017.

1. I am able to control the slave with I2C, using the wire.etc I am able to light LEDs and action some relays, using the normal digitalwrite command.

2. for testing purposes, I only connected a LED to the MCP23017. If I put my mcp code in the void loop, no issue (see code below) and I get a flashing LED. But as soon as I add the mcp code within the wire.read event, it just hangs.

So my MCP seems to work but the problem happens when I send an action from my master and that action requires to use my MCP code.

Sorry if it doesnt make sense but im trying to make sense of it at same time and I am still a noob in the arduino world. I am learning alot but there still some issues I cant find the answer.

Here is my code, hopefully its just a coding error or maybe I cannot do it that way.

This code is sent when I press a button and turn on a LED while button is pushed down on the master side circuit.
MASTER send action to SLAVE

Wire.beginTransmission(11);
Wire.write('1');
Wire.endTransmission();

Like I said, the code in the loop works if I enable it. I get a flashing led. The problem is in my receiveEvent function. The relay turns on and thats it.. nothing else happens
When I press the button from Master, the master LED stays on and the relay on slave side turn on but pressing button again doesnt do anything and LED and Relays are staying on. My guess is it stops right at the mcp1 code. Yes MCP is connected on SDA and SCL as well as the master. (is that the problem?)