Problem with multiple inputs

Hello all ... I am a total newbie working on my first project.

I have a toy gate on rollers which closes at start and then it can be opened by pressing a momentary switch or with an IR sensor.

The gate's limits are controlled by limit switches. The gate motor is controlled by a L298N board.

I have wired the limit switchs' common to 5V (on a breadboard) and their NO pins to two different inputs on the Arduino.

I have connected the momentary switch the same way -- one pole to 5V and the other pole to an Arduino input.

The sketch is as follows:

// Motor connections
int enA = 9;
int in1 = 8;
int in2 = 7;

//SENSORS
int in3 = 3; //IR Sensor
int in4 = 4; //Close limit Switch
int in5 = 5; //Open Limit Switch
int in6 = 6; //Button

int IRSensor = digitalRead(3);
int CloseLimit = digitalRead(4);
int OpenLimit = digitalRead(5);
int ButtonValue = digitalRead(6);

void setup() {
// Set all the motor control pins to outputs
pinMode(enA, OUTPUT);
pinMode(in1, OUTPUT);
pinMode(in2, OUTPUT);

// Set all sensor pins to inputs
pinMode(in3, INPUT);
pinMode(in4, INPUT);
pinMode(in5, INPUT);
pinMode(in6, INPUT);

}

void CloseGate ();

void loop() {

if (ButtonValue == HIGH || IRSensor == HIGH) {

void OpenGate ();

}
}

//Close Gate - Initial State

void CloseGate()

{

if (CloseLimit == LOW) {
analogWrite(enA, 240);
digitalWrite(in1, HIGH);
digitalWrite(in2, LOW);
}

else {
digitalWrite(in1, LOW);
digitalWrite(in2, LOW);
}
}

void OpenGate()

{

analogWrite (enA, 240);
digitalWrite (in1, LOW);
digitalWrite (in2, HIGH);

if (OpenLimit == HIGH) {

digitalWrite (in1, LOW);
digitalWrite (in2, LOW);
delay (5000);
}

}

My problem is this - nothing happens when I upload it and reset. I turned serial on to check the values of the variables. They all record 0 -- but if either limit switch or the button is pressed, they all turn to 1.

Any help you can give shall be appreciated. Thanks!

In your loop() you don't do anything to update ButtonValue or IRSensor.