Problem with my first Arduino project

Hello there,

I bought my first Arduino Uno R3 a few days ago, and I’m working on a LED lamp project. I’m quite new to Arduino and electronics, and although most parts of my project seem to work fine, I do have a “bug” I can’t trace. Here’s an explanation, I hope some of you would have a few minutes at hand to help me ^^

Project description : a LED lamp, working with 8 groups of 3 bright white LEDs, powered by a 12vdc adapter. The Arduino code enables or disables the LED groups according to the reading of a LDR.

Problem description : LEDs are getting enabled / disabled by the Arduino according to the LDR reading correctly, but whenever there’s more than 4 groups of LEDs enabled for a while, it looks like the Arduino resets himself. I’m not sure about the “reset”, but that’s how it looks : all LEDs are switching off, onboard “L” LED blinks, then everything goes back to normal for a few seconds, than all LEDs are switching off again, and so on…
If I’m monitoring the Arduino with the Serial Monitor through USB (which gives me the LDR reading and the number of LED groups which should be switched on) at the same time, the Serial Monitor seems to freeze when the “bug” happens and doesn’t update itself anymore.

Also, I don’t know if it’s relevant, but the chip on the Arduino gets quite hot while running.

Picture of my project :

Components :

• LEDs are 5mm, sold as 14000mcd, forward voltage 3.2 - 3.8v, forward current 20mA (typical) - 30mA (max)
  • Transistors used at switches controlled by the Arduino are BC337
  • Resistors between the LEDs and the transistors are 150 ohm
  • Resistors between the transistors and Arduino’s outputs are 1K ohm

Code used :

int led[8] = {2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9};
int LDR = 0;
int lum, i, nLED;

void setup()
{
  for (i = 0; i < 8; i++)
  {
    pinMode(led[i], OUTPUT);
  }
  Serial.begin(9600);
}

void loop()
{
  lum = analogRead(LDR); 
  nLED = map(lum,0,600,8,0); 

Serial.print("sensor = " );