Problem with rotary encoder

Hey guys, I just started learning about the arduino and got me an arduino nano with some additional parts.
Already got Ds18b20 working together with an oled display.
The next thing I wanted to work with is an rotary encoder, but this one gives me a hard time.

The problem is, no matter what library I try, it just counts up in both directions..
The encoder has 5 pins ( gnd, +, SW, DT, CLK) and I hooked up gnd to ground, + to 5v, sw to pin d4, dt to pin d3 and I did not use CLK, because I don't want to use the push funktion of it.

Do you guys have any idea what the problem is?
Thanks alot

1stkeks:
Hey guys, I just started learning about the arduino and got me an arduino nano with some additional parts.
Already got Ds18b20 working together with an oled display.
The next thing I wanted to work with is an rotary encoder, but this one gives me a hard time.

The problem is, no matter what library I try, it just counts up in both directions..
The encoder has 5 pins ( gnd, +, SW, DT, CLK) and I hooked up gnd to ground, + to 5v, sw to pin d4, dt to pin d3 and I did not use CLK, because I don't want to use the push funktion of it.

Do you guys have any idea what the problem is?
Thanks alot

Rotary encoders I am familiar with use the phase relationship between two outputs, Usually labeled 'A' and 'B'.

Your encoder is using DT, and CLK, (I am guessing, but is DT direction and CLK the pulse?) You are going to have to decode what these signals produce.

On a normal 'A,B' encoder, the relationship between 'A' and 'B' is what identifies the direction.

I write my code like this:

#define APIN 2 // arduino pin attached to the 'A' encoder output
#define BPIN 3 // Arduino Pin attached to the 'B' encoder output
#define RANGE 32 // resolution of encoder for one revolution

volatile bool aState;     // last state of 'A' input, either High or Low
volatile bool bState;    // last state of 'B' input, either High or Low