problem with runtime of sketch

hey folks,

i'm new to arduino world. is there any way that i could adjust the running time of my skecth in the arduino (Duemilanove)? before that i wanted to know the default execution time of a loop in arduino.

i wanted the run time of my sketch not exceeding 25milliseconds. How could i get this done?

help me..!

thnq, chiru

i wanted the run time of my sketch not exceeding 25milliseconds.

And what sketch would that be?

the time it takes 'loop()' to loop is dependant on how much code is inside it. Using port mapping can reduce pin access times. Optimise the code to gain even more speed increases.

Depending on your needs you could make a DIY non standard 20Mhz board, giving you that extra edge.

the time it takes ‘loop()’ to loop is dependant on how much code is inside it.

Not so - it is dependent upon the time it takes to execute the code inside it - there could be, for instance, a tiny amount of code, outputting characters at 300 bits per second to the serial port.

chiru42: i wanted the run time of my sketch not exceeding 25milliseconds. How could i get this done?

25 milliseconds is quite a long time. An empty loop will complete in microseconds, not milliseconds. So, to enable your loop to complete in 25 milliseconds, you need to write your code so that it takes less than 25 milliseconds to execute. Depending what you need to achieve in your loop, that could be very easy or very hard.

I guess another question is: What's an easy way to approximate the execution time of various parts of a functional sketch?

isnt there any way that i can make use of external oscillators?

My purpose of coding in loop() would be, sensing 3 analog inputs and some handful of calculations(say 20lines) of mathematical equations and sending the outputs through 5pins.

can someone tel me if all of these be done in 25milliseconds?

can someone tel me if all of these be done in 25milliseconds?