Problem with sensor timing

Hi,

I’ve got a problem with my air quality sensor. I used a sample code from manufacturer’s site (link) and tried to modify it to suit my needs. I would like to read data from the sensor every 20 sec and pass it to the other board. I’ve got a problem with precision and it’s very important to me since I’d like to send average value every 60th received data package via SMS (exactly every 20 minutes). I’m completely new to Arduino. Thanks for any help in advance.

#include <ESP8266WiFi.h>
#include <Wire.h>

#define LENG 31   //0x42 + 31 bytes equal to 32 bytes
unsigned char buf[LENG];

int PM2_5Value=0;        
int PM10Value=0;         

char toSend [10];

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);   //use serial0
  Serial.setTimeout(1500);    //set the Timeout to 1500ms, longer than the data transmission periodic time of the sensor
  Wire.begin(D1, D2);  
}

void loop()
{
  if(Serial.find(0x42)){    //start to read when detect 0x42
    Serial.readBytes(buf,LENG);

if(buf[0] == 0x4d){
      if(checkValue(buf,LENG)){
        PM2_5Value=transmitPM2_5(buf);//count PM2.5 value of the air detector module
        PM10Value=transmitPM10(buf); //count PM10 value of the air detector module 
      }           
    } 
  }

static unsigned long OledTimer=millis();  
    if (millis() - OledTimer >=20000) 
    {
      OledTimer=millis(); 

Serial.print("PM2.5: ");  
      Serial.print(PM2_5Value);
      Serial.println(" ug/m3");     

Serial.print("PM10:  ");  
      Serial.print(PM10Value);
      Serial.println(" ug/m3");   

sprintf (toSend, "%d,%d", PM2_5Value, PM10Value);
      Serial.print("Ready to send: .");
      Serial.print(toSend);
      Serial.println(".");
      Serial.print("\n");
      Wire.beginTransmission(8); 
      Wire.write(toSend);           
      Wire.endTransmission();    
      memset(toSend, 0, 10);
    }  
}

char checkValue(unsigned char *thebuf, char leng)
{  
  char receiveflag=0;
  int receiveSum=0;