Problem with the pinMode command

Hi there.I am new in the arduino world and since i am still learning how to program it,I have faced a problem that I was not able to solve. First of all, I have to mention that I am using arduino Uno, although i don't think that the problem has to do with a specific model of arduino.So my question is this;I can't understant in which cases I must set the pins that I am using as an INPUT and when as an OUTPUT in the pinMode command!!! :~ I hope that I didn't started a new topic unnecessary and please excuse me for the mistakes I may have done since English isn't my mother tongue...

orestman: Hi there.I am new in the arduino world and since i am still learning how to program it,I have faced a problem that I was not able to solve. First of all, I have to mention that I am using arduino Uno, although i don't think that the problem has to do with a specific model of arduino.So my question is this;I can't understant in which cases I must set the pins that I am using as an INPUT and when as an OUTPUT in the pinMode command!!! :~ I hope that I didn't started a new topic unnecessary and please excuse me for the mistakes I may have done since English isn't my mother tongue...

All I/O pins are set as input by default so you don't really need to set them as such, although it is considered a good practice to do so. You must set any digital pins to output mode if you wish to have the pins drive any external circuitry or device.

Lefty

Thank you very much for the quik reponse!!!So just to make it sure. It isn't neccessary to set something in the void setup as an input or an output(for example a led), and it won't hurt my arduino board, right??? So I can write this code for example;

int led = 13;

// the setup routine runs once when you press reset:
void setup() {                
  // initialize the digital pin as an output.
  pinMode(led, OUTPUT);     
}

// the loop routine runs over and over again forever:
void loop() {