Problem with Wire library and EEPROM

Hello guys,

I am new to Arduino forum and new to I2C protocols. I have difficulty understanding the following code.

void writeAddress(int address, byte val) {
  Wire.beginTransmission(EEPROM_I2C_ADDRESS);

Wire.write((int)(address >> 8));              //  -----------> (3)
  Wire.write((int)(address & 0xFF));            //  -----------> (4)
  Wire.write(val);                              //  -----------> (5)

Wire.endTransmission();
}

I am little confused in three areas.

a) The bitshift operator. What is advantage of shifting bits?
b) address & 0xFF. Whats this line for ? it didn't make any sense!
c) In line 3, 4 and 5, the wire.write() is used. When this line is used, how the EEPROM distinguish address and data.

I need some serious help guys.I am little confused.
Thank you

Since you can only send one byte at a time on Wire and the addresses on that EEPROM appear to be larger than that they are splitting two byte int into to single bytes to send one at a time. The line with the shift shifts the high byte to the low 8 bits to send that. The next line masks off the low 8 bits so you can send them.

Look in the reference section at the bitwise operators for more on how it works.

Thanks for the quick response.

Delta_G:
The next line masks off the low 8 bits so you can send them.

whats the need for masking the 8 bit data? Please answer my 3rd question too, its very important.

Thank you

It has to be masked because it isn't an 8bit value. It's larger than that. But we can only send 8 bits at once.

It doesn't know the diff between address and value. I suspect that it tells by the order you send them, but you'll have to look at the datasheet for your particular EEPROM to be sure.

Please answer my 3rd question too, its very important.

c) In line 3, 4 and 5, the wire.write() is used. When this line is used, how the EEPROM distinguish address and data.