Problem writing state machine

This is my first attempt to organize this application as a state machine. It is still under construction and full of development notes so I will NOT post the whole code. If you have an issue with that , just move on. I really do not need or want a step by step code help, I just need some ideas how to improve things. My state / flow is controlled by switch command. The switch is inside the Loop and gets processed indefinitely.

The idle case 0 / state is changed to case 1 to output data to the LCD. External interrupts sets the SystemState to 1.

I do not want to keep updating the LCD if there in no data change, so I change the state to do nothing, just fall thru. It works, but I am open to other options. Perhaps staying in same state with sub-state / flag / paramater?

There will be another interrupt input the application, for now it is just an test input.

Here is the essence of the code:

switch(SystemState)
    {
      case 0: // monitor selector button and output frequency 
      {
         lcd.clear(); 
         lcd.print("Running....");
         delay(Delay); 
         break; 
      }
         case 1: // frequency updated  
        {
             lcd.clear(); 
            SystemState = 0xf; // do not update display 
            break; 
        }

case 2: // rotary selector 
        {
            lcd.clear(); 
            lcd.print("Rotary selector..." );  // change rotary to selector  
          break;
        }

case 0xf: // do not update display 
      {
....                    do nothing for now 
          break;
      }
    }

#if DEBUG
     debugFunction ("loop() START");