Problem

Hi all,

I have been building electronic projects as a hobby for about 35 years. I etch my own pcb where needed and while I don't write code, i have been programming pic and avr's for about 15 years. However, I am relalively new to Arduino.

I have successfully uploaded sketches to pro mini's but recently tried to upload a couple of sketches to ATtiny45 and 85 chips but am having issues. One of the sketches was written for both pro mini and tiny85, no issues with pro mini version. I am using all the same gear with 85 as pro mini.

The problem seems very inconsistant, I mostly get verification issues. sometimes sketch will upload but when it does timing is slow. With one of the 2 projects sketch has uploaded correctly maybe 2 times out of 100. The same thing happens with 2 different, but similar projects that use tiny. I have tried different pc, chips, IDE version. The only same hardware would be the usbasp, but I have no issues uploading sketcches to pro mini's with it.

Projects are ppm gernerator/reader related.

Could it be something to do with board manager.

Please help, it would be much appreciated.

Davo

Have you checked the fuse settings on he attiny? What clock speed are you running at? You'll need to make sure you pick the right definition for the clock speed you're using or the timing will be off.

Yes.

But that does not explain all the issues I am having.

In fact I got a new batch of ATTiny today. Followed project instructions as follows:

tools > Select board > ATtiny 25/45/85 tools > select chip > ATtiny85 tools > select clock > 16Mhz tools > programmer > Usbasp tools > burn boot loader, I got no errors sketch > upload using programmer, error as follows

verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0000 0x00 !=0xa4 avrdude:verification error: content mismatch