Problems Using If Statements

Hi, hope someone can help please.

I'm making a small intervalometer for a DSLR and I want to be able to switch between six fixed values using a rotary switch.
I've never used IF statements before and i'm having trouble with them.

I'n the code below, when the loop gets to the IF statements at the bottom, it just ignores them completely.
Am I doing something wrong or, can't I use IF statements in this way.

Thanks
Paul

// Basic intervalometer for DSLR.

// Pins 4 and 5 connected to the camera cable via two optocouplers.

// Action 1 (FOCUS) is turned on for one second to allow the cama=era to auto focus.

// Action 2 (SHUTTER) is then turned on for one second to allow for the shutter to activate.

// The interval between shots is controlled by the six position switch and ground connected to pins 6 to 11.

#define FOCUS  4             // Define the Focus Pin as Digital Pin 4.             
#define SHUTTER  5           // Define the Shutter Pin as Digital Pin 5.          

#define ONESEC 6             // Define the six switch pins.
#define TENSEC 7
#define THIRTYSEC 8
#define SIXTYSEC 9
#define THIRTYMINS 10
#define SIXTYMINS 11

void setup()

{    

// Initialise the Arduino data pins for OUTPUT.

pinMode(FOCUS, OUTPUT);         // Initialise the Arduino data pins for OUTPUT.
  pinMode(SHUTTER, OUTPUT);

pinMode(ONESEC, INPUT);         // Initialise the Arduino data pins for INPUT.
  digitalWrite(ONESEC, HIGH);     // Attach internal pull-up resistors.
  pinMode(TENSEC, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(TENSEC, HIGH);
  pinMode(THIRTYSEC, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(THIRTYSEC, HIGH);
  pinMode(SIXTYSEC, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(SIXTYSEC, HIGH);
  pinMode(THIRTYMINS, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(THIRTYMINS, HIGH);
  pinMode(SIXTYMINS, INPUT);
  digitalWrite(SIXTYMINS, HIGH);

}

void loop()

{

digitalWrite(FOCUS,HIGH);           // Turns optocoupler 1 on, activating the auto focus.

delay(1000);                        // Wait 1 second.