Problems with IoT Kit Projects

I'm going thru the projects in the Explore IoT kit and I'm finding missing code in several projects. Currently in Project 5 there is missing line 65 in given code with an unpaired bracket. I tried to replace line 65 with

if (pirState == LOW){

but have yet to get the thing to work. The code compiles without errors.

Help!

Welcome to the forum

Could you please be a bit more specific about your issue? Most of us are here for fun and do not know all the projects, examples and tutorials that people use. Could you provide a link to where you got your projects from please?

If you modified a project, please post the entire sketch (use code tags). Reduce large sketches to an example that shows the issue.

As a professor, what would you tell a student that just called Help! ? :slight_smile:

Hi!
Although I am a newbie, I think (hope) I can help with this issue.
I’ve pasted an e-mail below that I sent to the Arduino Help group that I think addresses the issue you are having troubles with. See the section highlighted in RED.
Note: I don’t know if the picture was attached, but It was linked to the wiring issue and not the pirState issue.
I’ve posted the code that works (I have some diagnostic stuff in there as well). I also initialize the pirState to LOW, but since it is updated later, I think that is irrelevant.
Thanks,
Jere
---------Email I sent to Arduino Contact-Us -------------
Good afternoon.

I wanted to let you know that I resolved the issue, and update you with what I found because it looks to me like you will need to update your online documentation.
The picture for lesson 5 (and also in lesson 6) is very misleading. It shows a different cable configuration than the one supplied with the kit and also a slightly different PIR module.
There are 2 separate issues:

• I removed the Fresnel lens from the front of the PIR to reveal the pin designations and ground is the right-most pin, looking from the back, and VCC is the left-most pin.