Problems with Paractical Arduino Water Depth Sensor project

Standard Intro: I'm new to Arduino, primarily from a software background. I decided to build the Parctical Arduino Water Tank Depth Sensor ( practicalarduino.com ) for a need at home, and I've run into a problem with the sensor breadboard.

Setup: Arduino Uno R3, Arduino Ethernet Shield R3.

I have the Arduino up and running, with the ethernet shield talking to pachube, and then sending asynchronous messages through twitter triggers. All of that is running off of randomly generated data from the Arduino itself.

In parallel, I have breadboarded the sensor portion of the project with the 2053 DP. I've checked all the connections thoroughly, but when I go to calibrate the "zero" value on the output to 1V, I cannot get the output of the circuit to budge off of 2.5V, no matter how far I move the trim pot.

Possibly useful facts:

The Arduino is running off of USB power, not the 9V tap. This has been fine for all other operations.

I'm running the breadboard off of the +5 and GND connections on the ethernet shield.

I have tried with the sensor independent of connection to AN0, and with connection to AN0. The reading is the same.

I have tested the 10k pot, and the trim screw definitely moves through the rated resistance range.

Adjusting the 1k pot will move the voltage very slightly off of 2.5v, both positive and negative.

The sensor schematic is on http://www.practicalarduino.com/schematics/water-tank-depth-sensor-schematic.jpg

I appreciate any thoughts you might have of what I've done wrong.

The datasheet for the MPX2053DP (and the MPX2010DP specified in the schematic) says that the normal supply voltage is 10V with a maximum of 16V. They don't specify a lower limit so 5V might be OK.

The PracticalArduino.com site is slow to load so I have not seen the article yet.