Problems with sending emails

Hi!

I am a new Arduino user and this is my first Project.

I have multiple smokedetectors in my house and they are connected via a 2-wire cable. They are not connected to an Alarm-Station or wathever - just private usage - and I know what I am doing with the detectors :-)

Function: If one Smokedetector detects an alarm it will put a 9 Volt Signal on the 2-wire cable. All other detectors are detecting this signal and also sending out an alarm. If now all smokedetectors are in ALARM-State it is hard to check, which Detector detected the smoke or detected a false alarm. Therefor you can put a shortcut between the 2 wires, which will suspend all detectors, except the one which detected the Alarm.

So, what do I want to do with the Arduino: 1) By pressing a Maintenance Button on the Arduino or pushing a button on a Webfrontend putting a shortcut on the wires. 2) Check if there is an alarm on the wire and swith on an alarm led 3) Sending an email when there is an active alarm

I was able to finish #1 and #2, but I have troubles with number #3. If I use the code for Email-only (no web), then I can send out an email via my SMTP Rely. When I load the whole config, then my program stops working.

If I comment out line 255 until end, then everything is working again (except email of course). If this lines are active, then the programm somehow stops working. The last message I am getting on the console is "SUCCESS - SD card initialized", which can be found at line 57.

Could it be because I am trying to run the Ethernet Shield in Server and Client mode at the same time?

Attached the Code:

Rauchmelder_with_Ethernet_and_Email.ino (10.3 KB)

Could it be because I am trying to run the Ethernet Shield in Server and Client mode at the same time?

You don't say which Arduino you have, but using client and server code at the same time is not likely to be the problem. Running out of memory is far more likely.