Problems with SPI communication on Arduino DUE

Hello all!
I 've been struggling to make Arduino DUE communicate with MAX7219 via SPI. It should use MAX display driver to control 40 LEDs. I am a newbie to programming, so the first attempt was unsuccessful, so I decided to test the SPI on board, attached the oscilloscope, but did not detect sending any bits through MOSI line on SPI header. Both lines (CLK and MOSI) seams dead (no changes on the lines). Code is pretty simple, any help is appreciated. I've tested code on two DUEs, the same happens.

#include <SPI.h>

#define CS1 4

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
digitalWrite(CS,1);
SPI.begin(CS1);
}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
delay(1000);
SPI.transfer(CS1,0xA1,SPI_LAST);
delay(2000);
}

Hi,
You've got a bug in your code. you define CS1 and then use CS. look below for highlighted code :wink:

EDIT: are you using an ethernet shield with a sd card reader? that uses pin 4 for CS...

caleksa:
Hello all!
I 've been struggling to make Arduino DUE communicate with MAX7219 via SPI. It should use MAX display driver to control 40 LEDs. I am a newbie to programming, so the first attempt was unsuccessful, so I decided to test the SPI on board, attached the oscilloscope, but did not detect sending any bits through MOSI line on SPI header. Both lines (CLK and MOSI) seams dead (no changes on the lines). Code is pretty simple, any help is appreciated. I've tested code on two DUEs, the same happens.

#include <SPI.h>

#define CS1 4

void setup() {
// put your setup code here, to run once:
digitalWrite(CS,1);
SPI.begin(CS1);
}

void loop() {
// put your main code here, to run repeatedly:
delay(1000);
SPI.transfer(CS1,0xA1,SPI_LAST);
delay(2000);
}

Yes, pdoriam, you are right, it is the part of old code, but unfortunately, SPI is not working.