Procedure to implement existing WinAVR C coding....

Just getting started with Arduino, coming off some other micro experience. Before I get too far along, I'd like to get a little guidance...I have a super valuable coding example for a graphics lcd/touch screen I wish to convert for use with an Arduino MEGA. I have some asm and C experience, not a lot, am familiar with headers and such...but what is the general procedure to convert an existing WinAVR program, with all its headers and includes, into the Arduino IDE environment? Can I just call the main.c from within the loop structure and allow its called routines to pull all the necessary headers and includes in on their own or is there something particular I need to do to make the Arduino IDE happy? The example I am converting has about 20 header files, and 4 or 5 called "C" code files....

I understand Arduino generates WinAVR code as its output, so I believe most if not all the code should be transparent to Arduino if I get it arranged in the proper order? Or no???

Thanks in advance

Put all the headers and source files into a director in your sketch directory. The name of the new directory will be the name of the sketch. Rename the main file to the same name as the sketch and change the file extension to .ino (or .pde if using pre-1.0 Arduino).

Rename main() to setup() and add a "void loop() {}" somewhere.

Then try to compile and see what's still broken.