Processing and Arduino: seemingly no communication

Hi everyone,

My name is Jeroen, and I am new to this Arduino forum. I am trying to establish a serial communication between Arduino and Processing. I start by printing lines with int values from my Arduino (Serial.println(i)), and try to read these on Processing. Here is the code: Arduino

int i = 0;

void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
}
void loop(){
  if(i > 3){
    i = 0;
  }
  Serial.println(i);
  i++;
  delay(1000);
}

Processing

import processing.serial.*;
Serial port;
int val=0;
void setup(){
  size(500,500);
  port = new Serial(this,"COM9",9600);
  port.bufferUntil('\n');
}
void draw(){
  background(50);
  if(val==0){
    fill(125);
  }
  if(val==1){
    fill(125,125,0);
  }
  else if(val==2){
    fill(125,0,0);
  }
  else if(val==3){
    fill(0,0,125);
  }
  rect(125,125,250,250);
}
void serialEvent(Serial port){
  val = int(port.readStringUntil('\n'));
}

When I check the Arduino on the Arduino serial monitor, everything works fine. The lines that are printed contain 1,2,3,0,1,2,3,0,...... The problem is, when I try to read the serial output from the Arduino, nothing happens.. It appears as if Processing does not communicate with the arduino. The TX-LED on the Arduino is flashing though.

I have the RXTX-2.1-7 Processing Library installed, that's what I found out when looking at the black console-box from Processing:

Stable Library
=========================================
Native lib Version = RXTX-2.1-7
Java lib Version   = RXTX-2.1-7

Could you guys help me out? I don't know what is wrong with my set-up. I checked the COM-port, which was the right port. I did not have the Arduino serial monitor running at the same time I had the Processing sketch running.

Thanks in advance, Jeroen

Are you sure the Arduino is actually connected to serial port "COM3" ?

There are examples of code for processing, which actually identify the serial ports it can connect to.