Processing, Arduino, stepper motors used to create physical pixel display

Hi! Artist/designer here new to the Arduino platform. I'm trying to gauge the feasibility of project that I've been planning. I want to create a physical pixel display that can show a simple, slow-mo animated gif using stepper motors to rotate angled disks of paper. When angled down, the paper is darker. When angled up, it's lighter. This is how value would be created.

I'm not sure if the Arduino is correct way to go about what I envision. It must be noted that I have little coding experience outside of HTML/CSS, but I'm very willing to learn, just not sure where to start. Likely there are major problems in what I've outlined here, but I'm almost positive that this sort of thing could work somehow. Here's the rundown of what I'd like to accomplish:

• Small grayscale animated looped gif (10px x 10px to start) is loaded into Processing.
  • Processing continually outputs values of the various pixels as they change, and sends these to an Arduino (or something more appropriate?).
  • Values correspond to individual stepper motors set up in an array that mimics the pixels in the gif.
  • A value of rgb(255) would be mapped to the stepper degree displaying the darkest orientation of the angled paper, while rgb(0) would display the lightest.
  • Hopefully the array of physical pixels would display any animated gif I would feed it.

I realize there could be many issues with this setup—number of motors, power supply, latency, etc. I'm a big fan of Daniel Rozin and his mirror artworks, and want to build something along those lines to experiment with. Thanks in advance for any help you can give! Apologies if anything is unclear or off-base.