Processing > Arduino UNO R3 > TLC5947 > 45 RGB LEDs

Hi, I'm new to this forum and to Arduino programming. I have some knowledge in electronics and coding, but it's my first project using a microcontroller. I'll describe you my project and ask some questions:

I'm building an RGB LED matrix of 4x9 RGB leds. The idea is to generate some graphics in real time in processing and display them on the matrix. I decided to use Processing connected via serial to an Arduino UNO R3, and 6 daisy chained Adafruit 24-Channel 12-bit PWM LED Drivers. I've finished the Processing code, generating an array containing the values for each one of the LEDs (R, G, B * 45 = 135 values at 12 bits each). I have also tested the Adafruit libraries in the Arduino UNO and everything works fine. I'm currently in the phase of communicating the Processing program with the Arduino, so I could display what I generate at the fastest speed possible (+30fps ideally). It should be no problem, I suppose, to display at that speed, but I'm having some doubts about the serial communication. I narrowed it down to 3 options but I need some advice to choose one, or to resolve this using another method.

These are my options (I have tested none of them):

Option 1 (currently my chosen one): sending the full array of numbers to the Arduino and process the array in the Arduino to obtain each value and send it to the Adafruit circuit. The problem I've encountered with this (on the internet) is the buffer size in the Arduino. I'm sending the array in a string, 135 4 digit numbers separated with a comma. I know I can increase the buffer size in the Arduino, but is it safe? Can I fit these 135 4 digit numbers and commas into, for example, an 512 sized buffer? I guess not. How much can I increase the buffer size? Is there an option to do this without using the buffer?