Processing IDE

Is this the right place for this topic?

This is my first time playing around with Processing IDE. By my understanding, it is a more graphic based approach for Arduino. And for me to connect my project to my laptop (i.e. to be able print 'W' in Microsoft word) I need a combination of Arduino Programmin ( basic code), Bluetooth ( transmit data) and Processing IDE (?).

This is an example code that I got online. What is meant by ellipse?? And since the values from arduino exceed 30 (the value is 600), can I just change the set value in Processing ?

value0 = map(read0, 0, 680, 0, width);
  ellipse (value0, 300, 30, 30);

All help is greatly appreciated

I'm not really understanding what your trying to achieve. Can you please outline exactly what your trying to do as you may not be using the best approach.

Some confusion here I think.

Processing is a program that runs on the PC and I believe that it is programmed using Java. You cannot program an Arduino using Processing. For that you need to use the Arduino IDE(other IDEs are available). If you have questions about Processing then this Arduino forum is probably not the best place to ask.

All you need to do to send a 'W' to Word is a HID capable Arduino such as a Leonardo which can emulate a keyboard so you can send anything you like to the PC within reason. If you want/need to use Bluetooth then you can do that with any Arduino but will require a program running on the PC to receive, interpret and pass on values received. I assume that Processing can do that but do not know for sure.

What is meant by ellipse?

That looks like a call to a function to draw an ellipse on the screen using the parameters passed to it

Details of what you want to do would help enormously

Mostly a duplicate of that UKHeliBob answered while I was writing it, but there are some differences so I'll post it anyway:

Izzy13:
By my understanding, it is a more graphic based approach for Arduino.