Progamming with USB, problem with RX pin in use.

Hi, I should start out by saying I am an both an Arduino newbie and an Arduino forum newbie. I hope I have posted this in the right section.

I have an Arduino Nano (with onboard USB) connected to an HC-05 BlueTooth module on a breadboard.

All is working fine, I can talk to the BlueTooth etc, except that when I need to program the Nano, I need to disconnect the RX pin from the BlueTooth or else it won't allow me to upload the sketch.

I understand this is an issue that others have encountered

Unfortunately the final product will need to be able to be re-programmed every now and then, so I need to be able to overcome this issue.

Is there a way around this? Can I use different pins for RX/TX for the Bluetooth? Any external hardware solutions (apart from a physical switch)? After reading John Gammon's excellent article on low power projects, I will probably end up implementing everything using a separate USB programmer and a barebones Atmega328 - in this scenario, is it easier to overcome the problem?

Thanks for any assistance.

You could communicate with the blue tooth module using other pins and using the software serial library.

Grumpy_Mike:
You could communicate with the blue tooth module using other pins and using the software serial library.

Thanks for the reply. A few questions if you don't mind:

1. So if I did that, I guess I could effectively separate the two streams? For example, I think at the moment, if I am plugged into the PC, the Serial.println commands are sent back to the PC via USB.

2. Are there any other solutions? I am running a bit low on digital pins unfortunately

3. On that same topic, is there a simple way (using a sketch) to detect when the USB is plugged in? Or would that require some monitoring of voltages that are not easily accessible (and some tricky soldering!)

Your help is very much appreciated.

Cheers