Program for Learning Tables

Hey guys,

I’m trying to make a program which young kids can train their Tables 1 till 10 with.
But since I’m not that experienced with arduino I have a little problem.
I need to make kinda like an array of arrays which need to remind how many times a question is answered good. If the question is 3x good, then it isn’t going to ask that question anymore.

(the program isn’t supposed to ask the questions 3x the same question, the wrong answered question comes back when the whole table is repeat.)

This is my code now:

#define nrOfTables 3
#define nrOfLines 3
int antwoord = 0;
int lineIndex = 0;
int tableIndex = 0;

void setup() {
Serial.begin(9600);
do {
for (int tableIndex = 0; tableIndex < nrOfTables; tableIndex++) {
for (int lineIndex = 0; lineIndex < nrOfLines; lineIndex++) {
Serial.print (lineIndex + 1);
Serial.print (" x “);
Serial.print (tableIndex + 1);
Serial.print (” = “);
while (Serial.available() == 0) {
}
Serial.println (”");
antwoord = Serial.parseInt ();
if (antwoord == (lineIndex + 1) * (tableIndex + 1)) {
Serial.println (“CORRECT”);
}
while (Serial.available() > 0) {
Serial.read ();
}
}
}
} while (antwoord != (lineIndex + 1) * (tableIndex + 1));
}

void loop() {
}

int lineIndex = 0;
int tableIndex = 0;

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);
  do {
    for (int tableIndex = 0; tableIndex < nrOfTables; tableIndex++) {
      for (int lineIndex = 0; lineIndex < nrOfLines; lineIndex++) {

Why do you have local variables (the loop index variables) with the same name as global variables?

Just printing “CORRECT” is NOT sufficient. You need to somehow/somewhere record that the answer was correct (or wrong).

I’m completely missing the point of the do/while loop. The use of a do/while loop is almost, for beginners, the wrong structure to be using.

The code in a do...while is executed at least once. The code in a while... may not be executed at all which, strangely enough, is often the correct answer for beginners.

Hi,