Program will not upload to arduino

Hey All,

I am working on a hydroponic automation project for school. Specifically this one:

https://github.com/drolsen/DRO-Matic/wiki

I have put it all together and am attempting to upload and compile the code I cloned from github into visual studio, utilizing an arduino extension called vMicro.

Anyways I open the code in visual studio and attempt to compile, and I get 458 errors, of which they are either "cannot open source file.." and "identifier is undefined"..

As far as I know this should be a simple upload, because the code works. I am a newbie to visual studio 2019 and after I clone the code I don't know what to do to get it to compile.

Any help or guidance is much appreciated.

Have you tried using the Arduino IDE directly? The project says it supports it and that may be easier than VS

Yes, I could try and use the Arduino IDE separately.

So the question I have then is, when I open the Dro-matic.ino file and compiled. How come I get this error message?

Build options changed, rebuilding all
DROMatic:8:10: error: Adafruit_NeoPixel.h: No such file or directory

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

compilation terminated.

exit status 1
Adafruit_NeoPixel.h: No such file or directory

this is the begginning of the dromatic.ino file:

/*

• DROMatic.ino
  • DROMatic OS Core
  • Devin R. Olsen - July 4th, 2017
  • devin@devinrolsen.com
    */
    #include <Wire.h> //Include the software serial library for white sheild
    #include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>
    #include <LiquidCrystal.h> //lib for interfacing with LCD screen
    #include <SPI.h> //Suppoting lib for SD card
    #include <SD.h> //SD card API
    #include <StandardCplusplus.h> //STD
    #include <StandardCplusplus\vector> //Vectors
    #include <StandardCplusplus\ctime> //Time helper
    #include <ArduinoJson\ArduinoJson.h> //Arduno Json (aka epic)
    #include <DS3231.h> //Real time clock lib