programing the output voltage using a power supply

Hello i am new to arduino , and i am trying to learn how to use it : :) :)

I am currently working on a project where i need to drive an outuput voltage of 12v to a heater, but i want to use a power supply .. that \ can manually change the values of the output

I also have in my mind an idea of using a rotary encoder or a potentiometer to change the output voltage in order to to change the heating .

But again also want to use a power supply to see how it works.

Do you have an idea of which power supply i can use

And please can you tell me if my point of using a rotary encoder or potentiometer would be accurate

Thanks..

Use a transistor (probably MOSFET or Darlington) to drive the heater and PWM to control the power.

i Know that but i need to be changing the output power .

do you know of any power supply that i can connect to the arduino that would help me ?

How much current does the heater need?

the heater needs 3A max . is there a manual regulating power supply that exists , that can be used

As it is a heater, its physical state will not quickly change. You could use a PWM output to control the heater. For example, with analogWrite (pinX, 128); // pinX = 3,5,6,9,10,11 on an Uno then the 12V would be on 50% of the time, so the heater would run with the effect of the heater having 6V applied.

analogWrite (pinX, 64); // 25% on analogWrite (pinX, 25); // 10% on analogWrite (pinX, 192); 75% on

This is similar to how PWM is used to make LEDs appear dimmer or brighter.

Here is a manually controllable 3A supply https://www.testequity.com/product/BAndK-Precision-1550-DC-Power-Supply-18332-1?gclid=EAIaIQobChMIk7KSidPy6QIVi5-zCh27cAYoEAQYDCABEgI9FfD_BwE

You can find others with a google search for: variable lab bench power supply kit 0-30v 0-3a