Programmable model railway with light dependent resistors

Good afternoon,

I’m really quite new to this and have had a go at implementing coding from a variety of different sources. Whilst reading Arduino for Dummies.

Please may you have a look at the program below, it currently has no errors but does not function correctly. The program is explained as i go & any help would be greatly appreciated.

#include <Wire.h>
#include <Adafruit_MotorShield.h>
#include "utility/Adafruit_PWMServoDriver.h"

// Create the motor shield object with the default I2C address
Adafruit_MotorShield AFMS = Adafruit_MotorShield(); 

// Select which 'port' - M4.
Adafruit_DCMotor *myMotor = AFMS.getMotor(1);

int sensorPin = A0;            // select the input pin for the ldr
unsigned int sensorValue = 0;  // variable to store the value coming from the ldr

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(9600);           // set up Serial library at 9600 bps
  Serial.println("Adafruit Motorshield v2 - DC Motor test!");

AFMS.begin();  // create with the default frequency 1.6KHz

// Set the speed to start, from 0 (off) to 255 (max speed)
  myMotor->setSpeed(150);

}

void loop() {
  uint8_t i;

myMotor->run(FORWARD); // motor accellerates and keeps at a constand speed
  for (i=0; i<255; i++) {
    myMotor->setSpeed(i);  
  }
   sensorValue = analogRead(sensorPin);  // when sensor is seen / goes dim the motor should deccelerate 
  if(sensorValue<400) for (i=255; i!=0; i--) {
    myMotor->setSpeed(i);  
    delay(10);
  } 
  myMotor->run(RELEASE); // motor should wait for set delay period
  delay(1000);

myMotor->run(BACKWARD); //  motor should then return in opposite direction accelerating and decelerating for set delay period
  for (i=0; i<255; i++) {
    myMotor->setSpeed(i);  
    delay(10);
  }
  for (i=255; i!=0; i--) {
    myMotor->setSpeed(i);  
    delay(10);
  }
  myMotor->run(RELEASE); // motor should wait for set delay period then go back to the beginning and start over
  delay(1000);
}

Hi. Welcome.