Programming a custom arduino due board

First off, happy thanksgiving to everyone. :slight_smile:

So here's the story. I custom built my own board for my project using the atsam3x8e. I double checked everything with the checklist provided by Atmel and going back and forth between the arduino due eagle files and a clone board called the TAIJIUINO Due.

However I made a small mistake...

Basically, when I was ordering the parts on digikey the D+ D- pins used by the USB require a 39 ohm resistor and I bought a 39K. Now im not sure if those resistors would work just as fine but I ordered an extra pair from digikey, the only issue is that I want to be able to program the board before the resistors get delivered as I am running out of time.

Please keep in mind that I am new at all of this and I am trying really hard not to make mistakes.

As I wanted to keep the board as debugable as possible I made headers for the JTAG port, a debug port, ICSP, and a programming port which essentially are the same pins used by an additional microcontroller which are connected to the first UART of the SAM3X (RX0 and TX0).

Now I am not very fond of JTAG but with the little research I did it seems I need a JTAG programmer which is a bit expensive and honestly I dont see the use of buying it as I would only use it once, plus, the time it would take to arrive is too much for me at the moment. If someone can give me a cheaper solution to use the JTAG it would be nice.

The programming port seems to me as the best option to program the custom board but I am a little clueless as to how to use it.

I currently have with me both an arduino uno and a due board at my disposal.

Is there any way to program my custom board with the UART port I left open? I have all the ICs required to convert the 5V signal going into those pins into a 3.3V so that is taken care of.

I know I could wait until the resistors are delivered but would love to be able to program the board before that date.