Programming a standalone Atmega 328P bootloaded...

... on a bread board via the USB-Mini Adapter
Hello I tried making a simple stand alone version ot the Arduino which I can reprogram using these instructions:

Here's how my arduino looks like:

I uploaded the Blink program to the chip using my original Arduino Duemilanove and when I put it to the bread board the program functions ok, but I cannot reprogramm it on the bread board I get these errors:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00
avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

I am a still a great noob but in some posts I read I think you must first reset the chip (using the RESET PIN that is connected to the button) then upload the program so you can programm it.
How do i do that??
Please help! :-/

If your mini-USB adapter has the DTR signal broke out then just wire it to the reset pin via a series .1ufd capacitor and the Arduino should be able to auto-reset the board prior to uploading a new sketch. If you don't have a means to auto-reset then you have to use the manual reset switch, but the timing of that reset is tricky as there is a pretty short 'window' of when it will work properly with the IDE timing. Most hold the reset button down and release it as soon as the IDE displays the size of the compiled sketch, but again it can be tricky getting it right.

please dude give me some kind of schematic because whateverI try it doesn't work :-/b
btw I have the DTR broke out, I connectedit to one of the end a capacitor (not in parrarel) and the other end of the capacitor I connected to the reset pin of the Atmega328P
It doesn't work :cry:
I have the revised version of the Mini USB Adapter

please dude give me some kind of schematic because whateverI try it doesn't work

A schematic showing what? Auto-reset function?

The Standard Arduino uses auto-reset, just locate C-13 where it connects from the DTR pin on a FTDI chip to the ARV reset pin: