programming Arduino uno with two esc's

hey. I’m working on a school project and I’m in having a lot of problems with the programming of the Arduino. my goal is to have two esc’s with the Arduino controlling two motors for a tank track. the escs I’m using are "Hobbywing quicrun"1060. I have no background in programing at all so I could really use a lot of help. so far I’m able to get the motors to go forward but not backwards. I found this program online and all the inputs I use get the motors to spin in one direction but not to brake or reverse. Please help!!!

#include <Servo.h>

Servo esc;

int escPin = 10;
int minPulseRate = 1000;
int maxPulseRate = 2000;
int throttleChangeDelay = 100;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);
Serial.setTimeout(500);

// Attach the the servo to the correct pin and set the pulse range
esc.attach(escPin, minPulseRate, maxPulseRate);
// Write a minimum value (most ESCs require this correct startup)
esc.write(0);

}

void loop() {

// Wait for some input
if (Serial.available() > 0) {

// Read the new throttle value
int throttle = normalizeThrottle( Serial.parseInt() );

// Print it out
Serial.print("Setting throttle to: ");
Serial.println(throttle);

// Change throttle to the new value
changeThrottle(throttle);

}

}

void changeThrottle(int throttle) {

// Read the current throttle value
int currentThrottle = readThrottle();

// Are we going up or down?
int step = 1;
if( throttle < currentThrottle )
step = -1;

// Slowly move to the new throttle value
while( currentThrottle != throttle ) {
esc.write(currentThrottle + step);
currentThrottle = readThrottle();
delay(throttleChangeDelay);
}

}

int readThrottle() {
int throttle = esc.read();

Serial.print("Current throttle is: ");
Serial.println(throttle);

return throttle;
}

// Ensure the throttle value is between 0 - 180
int normalizeThrottle(int value) {
if( value < 0 )
return 0;
if( value > 180 )
return 180;
return value;
}