Programming AVR (ex attiny2313) using Arduino IDE and Arduino board

Hello guys.
I want to know if its possible to program an AVR (ex attiny2313) using the Arduino Windows software and an Arduino Mega2560 board.
I have made a flashing led strip for my car usin the Adafruit NeoPixel library using their example “strandtest”. The problem is that I dont want to leave my Adruino there and want to build a simple circuit usint an avr that will be there permanently. Unfortunatelly I dont have a programmer and if its possible to use the Arduino board to program the avr will be great.
I want to say that I am new to Arduino so please “take me easy” if what I am asking is a stupid question.
Thank you

Use a promini as the processor when all done. Mega USB/Serial controller can be used to download code into it.

The ProMini sounds like a great solution (thanks for this) but I was looking for something that I can make myself (I like building electronics alot but I am just new in micricontrollers). I found a way to program the Attiny by arduino board and Arduino IDE using the Attiny cores (http://code.google.com/p/arduino-tiny/) but when I try to test the code using the Neopixel Library I get "Adafruit_NeoPixel.cpp:668:3: error: #error "CPU SPEED NOT SUPPORTED"" I thing tat the problem is because from "BOARD" its selected the Attiny 2313 at 1 MHZ internally. Is there any way that I can get this to work ?

Change the fuses to a clock speed that is supported, with matching external crystal/caps if needed?

That core includes an entry for the t2313 @ 8 MHz... https://code.google.com/p/arduino-tiny/source/browse/Prospective+Boards.txt#550