Programming - BASICS Question

Dear community,

I am a student and we are studying Arduino through very simple programs and applications.
So basically we have to use an ultrasound detector, calculate distances between the detected object and the detector. No bid deal so far, but I encountered a singular issue with a very simple code and even the professor is having gray haris on it, so I rely on you to help me now :slight_smile:

I use a suite of instructions to trigger the ultrasound wave generation, sense the bounce of these, mesure the wave travel time and calculate the distance. Some put a delay between detection, calculation and the Serial.print in order to better see the results. But I don‚Äôt want my radar to stop working for the convenience of the user, so I set up a ‚Äúinc‚ÄĚ which after 50 iteration of the basic procedure will print the results through a test (if inc >=50 then -Print Procedure).

The program just don’t recognize that test.

I thought it could be that im going too fast and need to put delay for the system to acknowledge the value of inc and maybe acknowledge there is a test for the inc value. It doesnt change anything.

I tried to put the Serial.println(inc) before the ¬ę if ¬Ľ. It works but I am now spammed with stroker value in the Serial monitor.

Any help would be appreciated. I do not ask you to do my work as I am going steps further from what is asked from us. I am only willing to understand.

Thank you !

byte pinLed[3] {9,10,11};
byte pinTrig = 1;
byte pinEcho = 13;
float T = 0.0;
float v=340.*pow(10,2)/pow(10,6);
float distance=0.0;
int inc = 0;

void setup()
{
  Serial.begin(9600);
  for (int i=0;i<sizeof(pinLed);i++)
  {
    pinMode(pinLed[i],OUTPUT);
    digitalWrite(pinLed[i],LOW);
  }
  pinMode(pinTrig, OUTPUT);
  pinMode(pinEcho,INPUT);
  Serial.println(" ** System Initialized ** ");
  Serial.println(" ** RADAR MODE ENGAGED ** "); 
}

void loop()
{
  digitalWrite(pinTrig,LOW);
  delayMicroseconds(2);