Programming for finding fft of a voltage signal

Hi all members,

I am new to arduino.I want to know how to do the fft of an analog signal using arduino.The analog signal will be in the range 0-5v. Initially I will be doing the programming by manually giving the values(0-5v) instead of connecting the reading to analog pins.Let me know is it possible to do this?

Thanks & Regards,
BISNI

Here is a library you can use for FFT:
http://wiki.openmusiclabs.com/wiki/ArduinoFFT

Thank you Johnwasser for your reply.Let me try this library.

Regards,
BISNI

I installed this library.I am using arduino UNO for my experiment.And I compiled the following program.Ii complied and uploaded successfully. But am not getting the display in the serial monitor as expected.Its showing some unreadable characters.It also happened for some other programs also.But it gave me the correct input when i changed the baud rate in the serial monitor.But for the fft program it remains as it is.Let me know how it can be rectified?Is there any other codes for doing the FFT?

Thanks & Regards,
BISNI

program.pdf (83.9 KB)

bisni:
But am not getting the display in the serial monitor as expected.Its showing some unreadable characters.

Usually that means your Serial Monitor is set to a different baud rate than your Arduino sketch.

That program does not display the result. Instead, it uses Serial.write to send the data to a PC program for display. Change the Serial.write portion to a loop that uses Serial.print, for example:

/*
 fft_test_sine
 example sketch for testing the fft library.
 This generates a simple sine wave data set, transforms it, 
 calculates and prints the amplitude of the transform.
 */

// do #defines BEFORE #includes
#define LIN_OUT 1 // use the lin output function
#define FFT_N 32 // set to 32 point fft

#include <FFT.h> // include the library

void setup() {
  Serial.begin(115200); // use the serial port
}

void loop() {
  int i,k;
  float f1=2,f2=5;  //two input frequencies