Programming Guidance for RPM logger

Hello, this is my first time posting to these forums so forgive me if this is in the wrong place.

I am attempting to read the RPM of a pump and display it on a LCD, the Arduino is supposed to log the RPM based on the square wave pulsed at 5v provided by a pressure switch attached to the pump. Unfortunately when the Arduino receives no input, the LCD displays -60 and when I attach the pressure switch to the input pin (Pin 2 at the moment) the display reads a number in the hundreds of thousands that changes incredibly fast. I’ve tried changing the input pins around (making sure not to use a pin that is already used by the LCD shield) but I have the same problem every time.

This is my first time making a project with Arduino and coding C++, so I’m sure I’ve made quite a few errors, my code is mostly a Frankenstein of code I’d seen from similar projects supplemented by my very limited programming knowledge.

As you can see the first half of my code is my attempt at averaging the readings from the RPM portion of the code, as I plan to eventually have the Arduino log the average hourly RPM to an SD card.

As this is my first project and I’m having a hard time progressing from here from just using google searches I thought it’d be a good idea to ask here for some pointers and maybe a push in the right direction. I apologize in advance if this isn’t the right place to ask :confused: .

#include <LiquidCrystal.h>
LiquidCrystal lcd(8, 9, 4, 5, 6, 7);

const int pulsePin = 2; // Input pin being pulsed is 2
unsigned long startMillis = 0;
unsigned long interval = 3600000;
int Sample_Number = 0;
int pulseHigh; // Integer var to capture high time of pulse
int pulseLow; // Integer var to capture low time of pulse
int period; // Integer var to capture total time of incoming pulse,
unsigned long frequency; // Frequency after calculations,
int RPM; //Revolutions Per Minute
unsigned long RPM_Total = 0; //Running Total of RPM