Programming Languages

I'm just learning about the Arduino framework and it seems like the perfect platform to start teaching my 10 yr old son about robotics. (He's been begging me to start)

I don't have much experience myself, so it'll be a learning process for both of us. My question is with regards to the programming language for Arduino projects.

Can it be programmed in any Language, or does it have to be in the C/C++ that I am reading so much about as I learn about Arduino? I am well versed in C# and the other .NET languages as well as Java. But not as much in C/C++.

Thanks for your advice.

C/C++ is the only official language supported by the IDE.

But most programs are so simple, that your knowledge of C# should be sufficient.

Read a few examples and you should get the hang of it.

Apart from agreeing with @KeithRB, once you install the IDE there are a lot of examples under the file->examples to look at.

C# is as I understand it a Microsoft derivative of C++, as such the syntax should seem reasonably familiar.

ChilliTronix:
C# is as I understand it a Microsoft derivative of C++, as such the syntax should seem reasonably familiar.

There are a lot of similarities between C++ and C#, at least as far as the basic syntax goes. But they are completely different languages, and the way of thinking involved with the two languages are very different.

C# is a very strongly typed managed language and will do a lot of things for you: memory management, garbage collection, and many other helpful abstractions (like no pointers and managing object lifespan for you.) There is a rich system library of classes and functions that make many complex tasks easier.

In comparison, C++ is a much lower level language with much looser type checking. You need to be aware of pointers, and much more aware of array management and memory management. Complex operations that are handled by system classes with a minimum of code can be more difficult in C++.