Programming nano GPS click (UART) with Arduino Mega 2560

Hello there,

First, sorry for bad english :blush:

I’m doing a project with a nano GPS click using Nano Hornet GPS (https://shop.mikroe.com/click/wireless-connectivity/nano-gps) and an Arduino Mega 2560. For the moment, I just need to print the longitude and latitude on the Serial terminal. I’m a beginner when it comes to Arduino coding so I searched for some basic codes working with a GPS and I made myself this one :

// TinyGPS - a small GPS library from Mikal Hart
#include <TinyGPS.h>

TinyGPS gps;
long lat,lon;

boolean DataReceived = false;

void setup()
{

Serial.begin(4800);
Serial1.begin(4800);
Serial.println(“Nano GPS Click Demo started”);

}

void loop()
{
while(Serial1.available()>0){

if(gps.encode(Serial1.read())){
gps.get_position(&lat,&lon);
Serial.println("//latitude :");
Serial.print(lat);
Serial.println("//longitude :");
Serial.print(lon);
}
}

}

The problem is : it only print Nano GPS Click Demo started and nothing else.
So I suppose that Serial1 does not work but I did connect RX from the GPS to TX1(pin 19) and TX to RX1(pin 18).

I found others project which had the same problem: it seems that the communication pins ( RX1 TX1 RX2 TX2 …) have an issue with RS232 but I didn’t quite understand. Well, I did try to connect RX1 to TX2 and RX2 to TX1 and print data from Serial2 but that didn’t work as well…

I also tried to connect to RX0 and TX0 the RX TX from the GPS and it also didn’t work. Every time, Serial1.available() return 0. Should I activate the GPS with some kind of START pin ? The nano Click GPS doesn’t have a real datasheet so I don’t know what does it specifically need. I only know this : the device has 9 I/O : RX/TX/GND/GND/3.3V/5V (which are essential) and RST/WUP/PWR( which seem not important but I might be wrong …)

I’m open to every suggestions or documentation.