Programming or editing ws2812 led strip sketch

I have some ws2812 led strips and I’m new to programming but I know how to change brightness, led count, pin number, speed etc…. as that’s easy.
I have downloaded a template from the library WS2812FX if you call it a library but anyway it’s called “auto_mode_cycle” which has some cool effects but I was wondering if I can edit some of the effects? It scrolls through about 30 effects but some don’t suite my project.

There must be some behind the scenes code imbedded somewhere that I haven’t seen yet??? I’m still learning :open_mouth:
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, Cheers :slight_smile:

Where did you get WS2812FX ?

Please post the code that you are using and remember to use code tags when you do

Maybe have a look at the documentary, then pick an example that comes close to what you want, and try to change that.

Or start from scratch without a full effects library (maybe just the basics of the Adafruit or FastLED Library), then you can learn and gradually move towards what you want.

Thanks guys :slight_smile:
Oh WOW thankyou Gerdski I’ll check that document out!!
I installed the WS2812FX from the libray manager.
Here’s the code, I hope I’ve copied it correctly haha I’m still new at this.

#include <Adafruit_NeoPixel.h>

#include <WS2812FX.h>

#define LED_COUNT 595
#define LED_PIN 10

#define TIMER_MS 3000

// Parameter 1 = number of pixels in strip
// Parameter 2 = Arduino pin number (most are valid)
// Parameter 3 = pixel type flags, add together as needed:
//   NEO_KHZ800  800 KHz bitstream (most NeoPixel products w/WS2812 LEDs)
//   NEO_KHZ400  400 KHz (classic 'v1' (not v2) FLORA pixels, WS2811 drivers)
//   NEO_GRB     Pixels are wired for GRB bitstream (most NeoPixel products)
//   NEO_RGB     Pixels are wired for RGB bitstream (v1 FLORA pixels, not v2)
//   NEO_RGBW    Pixels are wired for RGBW bitstream (NeoPixel RGBW products)