Programming question ?

Hello all, I am new to the forums and also new to programming Micros. I have been doing a lot of reading trying to figure out the best approach to take but haven't found anything to help make my ming up. Let me give you a little of my background and hopefully someone out there in Arduino land might be able to give me some advise.

First of all I am 59 years old and have never had any experience in embedded programming at all. I have had some basic experience with the old BASIC language on a PC. The electronic part of the hobby should be a little easier for me because I have worked in the field of electronics my whole life, but I am no means an expert. I started getting interested in embedded programming about 4 years ago, and started to learn C. Never did get proficient in the language because I had a stroke shortly after I started learning. Long story short, I am back on my feet and have started back at my hobbies again only to find out about Arduino.

Now my question to anyone that could give me some honest advise is this........ Which would be easier to learn ? Arduino or embedded C ? If I am correct in thinking that Arduino is nothing more than C with all the teedious code put into functions, so a lot of the work and learning is built into the IDE with built in functions. Is this correct or am I on the wrong track ? I am looking for the easiest way to learn and do projects because lets face it, at my age and with my health history, I am never going to be a programmer for anything but just a hobby so I don't need to know the best of the best programming to be a programmer. I am not ever going to be one.

So which is the best way to go for someone in my shoes? Arduino and the Arduino IDE or learn Embedded C for the Atmel AVR's ? Which would be more productive and faster to realize some accomplishments?

Thank you for taking the time to read this and hopefully have some advise for me.

scottjge