programming stepper motors

Hi I'm brand new to Arduino. I have NO Electronic knowledge. I have NO programming experience. A sad guy really, but not a bad one. My first objective is to get a Model Railway (I did say sad) turntable up & running using a Stepper Motor. (of which I I have no experience either) So, my first question is, Can anybody out there give me some guidance? I am told that this has been attempted before. Regards Ridleyn123

Any particular turntable? If so details are useful. Any deep reason why you want a stepper motor?

There is a very useful and extensive Thread about motorizing a turntable here even if you are not interested in using DCC.

...R

See this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yC7mlnhO0zo There is a link at the end to project. Looks to be the same link as Robin2 posted above?

I forgot to mention that if you are starting from scratch don't use a motor shield to drive a stepper motor. Use a proper stepper motor driver - for example the Pololu A4988. Of course you must make sure that your stepper driver can comfortably supply the current required by your motor. These motors should be perfectly suitable for a model railway turntable and the easily work with the A4988.

...R

Robin2: I forgot to mention that if you are starting from scratch don't use a motor shield to drive a stepper motor. Use a proper stepper motor driver - for example the Pololu A4988. Of course you must make sure that your stepper driver can comfortably supply the current required by your motor. These motors should be perfectly suitable for a model railway turntable and the easily work with the A4988.

...R

Robin,

Why do you advise a newbie to NOT use a motor shield, but use a "naked" stepper motor driver instead? I would think a shield would be easier for a beginner because it's plug-and-play, and there will be libraries to use it.