Programming stm32 with a pro micro

I'm a total newbie, to the whole arduino thing, and I wanted to build a midi controller for myself, so I ordered a chinese pro micro (it's recognised as a leonardo), and a cheap stm32f103c8t6 board.
The problem is, when I ordered them, I didn't know, that the stm32 board has no bootloader in it, which should be uploaded via the serial port on the board.
The question is:
Is it possible, to use the pro micro, as an usb to serial converter to burn the bootloader on the stm32 board?
I barely found any information on that. I found a wiring diagram, where I saw that I should put 1k resistors between the source, and target RX and TX pins (I didn't found any information why, but I assume it's due to different voltage levels (the pro micro is 5V and the stm32 is 3,3V), but I'm just guessing here, as I said I'm a newbie to the whole microcontrollers topic.
My wiring goes like
Pro micro STM32
RX--1k-------TX
TX--1k-------RX
VCC----------5V
GND---------GND

The STM32 can be flashed via a USB-to-Serial converter by using the built-in DFU bootloader. I understand, though I've never done so, that the Pro Micro can be programmed to act as a USB-to-Serial, but I believe this requires setting fuses which means it must be programmed with an ISP.

While you might find an ISP to be a useful thing to add to your toolbox, it makes more sense just to get a USB-to-Serial or a STM programmer (STlink V2) to program the STM32 directly.

Maybe you can use this thread for help.

https://arduino.stackexchange.com/questions/21166/trying-to-verify-that-arduino-pro-micro-isp-is-working

You don't need the voltage divider because the pins you are using are 5v tolerant on the STM32F103. http://wiki.stm32duino.com/index.php?title=File:Bluepillpinout.gif

Another tip: When you managed to flash the bootloader on the STM32F103 and you cannot get the usb port to work (unknown device descriptor error):