Project consultation using Lilypad - Constellation quilt

Hi there!

I am a long-time quilter that is completely new to circuitry. I have made this beautiful quilt before as a gift for a friend. I have since learned about the Lilypad and thought it would be SO COOL to make the quilt again and add a lighting component to it.

Let me be clear, I am a complete novice at the whole process but I am willing to put in the time and effort to learn. What is the feasibility of adding LED's to substitute the stars on this quilt? Would I need multiple lilypads? How would you recommend going about this project? I am curious what the experts on this board might recommend. Any help would be sincerely appreciated!

What you need depends on what you want to do with the LEDs. The Lilypad has 6 analog and 14 digital pins, 6 of which are PWN. PWN pins mean you can fade the leds in and out instead of just turning them on or off. Usually one LED per pin.

How many LED's do you estimate you will need?

Warning: Don't power the LilyPad Arduino with more than 5.5 volts, or plug the power in backwards: you'll kill it. Microcontroller ATmega168V or ATmega328V Operating Voltage 2.7-5.5 V Input Voltage 2.7-5.5 V Digital I/O Pins 14 (of which 6 provide PWM output) Analog Input Pins 6 DC Current per I/O Pin 40 mA Flash Memory 16 KB (of which 2 KB used by bootloader) SRAM 1 KB EEPROM 512 bytes Clock Speed 8 MHz

Nice project, good luck.

Do you need to control the LEDs one at a time or in a group? Do they need to dim or just be on / off.

Only when we know your requirements can we make useful suggestions.

Pauly: I counted around 420ish stars. So a lot of LEDS.