Project does not run when not connected to serial

I have a some landscape lights that run of a 12v battery. It gets recharged via a solar panel. I wanted to log the voltages of the battery during a day/night cycle. I am using an Adafruit M0 Feather adalogger and a no-name voltage sensor. The sensor is just a voltage divider. Voltage gets written to SD card. It all runs great when the usb cable is hooked to my pc and the serial monitor is open. When just on battery, it doesn’t run the project. I read about the serial(!while) which I don’t have anymore. I also read some boards only run when the serial is connected. I’m a newbie, so don’t know why it won’t run on battery alone. Is it all the serial.prints? Here’s the code I cobbled together:

#include <SD.h>
#include <SPI.h>

File myFile;

int pinCS = 4; // Pin 10 on Arduino Uno
int offset =-10;// set the correction offset value

void setup() {
  // put your setup code here, to run once:

pinMode(pinCS, OUTPUT);
Serial.begin(9600);
  // SD Card Initialization
  if (SD.begin())
  {
    Serial.println("SD card is ready to use.");
  } else
  {
    Serial.println("SD card initialization failed");
    return;
}
}
void loop() {
  int volt = analogRead(A0);// read the input
  double voltage = map(volt,0,1023, 0, 1690) + offset;// map 0-1023 to 0-2500 and add correction offset
  voltage /=100;// divide by 100 to get the decimal values
  Serial.print("Voltage: ");
  Serial.print(voltage);//print the voltge
  Serial.println("V");
  // Create/Open file 
  {
  myFile = SD.open("test.txt", FILE_WRITE);
   if (myFile) {
    myFile.print("Voltage:");
    myFile.println(voltage);
   myFile.close(); // close the file
      }
  // if the file didn't open, print an error:
  else {
    Serial.println("error opening test.txt");
  }

}
delay(60000);

}

Thanks,
-Paul

I have tried it without the serial.begin but no difference.

When just on battery, it doesn't run the project.