Project - Electrical Stimulation on Eradicating Bacteria/Biofilms

Hello all,

I have a project in mind, but I am fairly new to project design.

The goal is to produce a device similar to a modified TENs device. The idea would be to have controllable parameters such as voltage, current, and wave forms.

The research I have on eradicating bacteria/biofilms all range from either saying pulsed high voltage works well, to direct current varying from 20 uA to 2,000 uA works well, to a combination of both with varying application time.

I am not interested in which works the best as I will perform my own experiments. I just need help in understanding what could be develop for an electrical stimulation output device with controllable/adjustable parameters using Arduino.

Thank you. I have also attached some interesting articles on the matter for reading.

Biofilm ES Current.pdf (640 KB)

Is this for lab research using machines, or for human subjects? The Arduino processor is specifically excluded from medical use.

aarg:
Is this for lab research using machines, or for human subjects? The Arduino processor is specifically excluded from medical use.

Lab research using ES on various bacteria and biofilm.

You will need to design and build the device that generates the voltage and current required, and it will need some way of being controlled by 5V logic signals.

By comparison, whatever the Arduino does will be completely trivial.

Are you a penniless researcher, or a paid professional working for a commercial venture?

jremington:
You will need to design and build the device that generates the voltage and current required, and it will need some way of being controlled by 5V logic signals.

By comparison, whatever the Arduino does will be completely trivial.