Project feasability question

Hi all,

Im completely new to the Arduino technology and not entirely sure if it is exactly what I think it is. I am hoping someone here can enlighten me.

I am attempting to construct a radio telescope. This is not a complicated device in itself (essentially just a sattelite dish) but i have had quite a headache designing control electronics and computer interface. I'm a fairly adept programmer but my knowledge of electronics is very basic.

I have ordered an Arduino starter kit and I intend to use it to control motors which will orientate the dish as well as reading the signal strength (a serial input) from the dish and sending it to the computer. Is this an appropriate use for the Arduino technology?

The program that i am writing, as well as communicating with the Arduino board, uses managed C++ windows forms, openGL, and standard C libraries such as maths, iostream, string etc. This is all necessary to keep track of the locations of all heavenly bodies which are to be observed, present a clear user interface and process the recorded data into an image. I have written it so far using MS visual studio. Can I use visual studio to write code for the Arduino or do I need to use the IDE that comes with the hardware? If I have to use the dedicated IDE, can I still incorporate the other libraries I have included so far?

Any advice or direction would be most appreciated.

Thanks

SmoggieTom

Can I use visual studio to write code for the Arduino or do I need to use the IDE that comes with the hardware?

You have to use the IDE or possibly some other AVR IDE or even command line control of the AVR gcc compiler and tools.

If I have to use the dedicated IDE, can I still incorporate the other libraries I have included so far?