[Project feasibility] Alarm with SMS/Call/Email notifications

Hi All,

I am new to Arduino and electronics :blush:

The context Let me start with a little story, I had a motorcycle which was stolen at home last month and the insurance won't reimburse me for some shady reasons that I am still fighting against. Needless to say I am pretty upset since I spent a lot of money on this motorcycle. Now, I am buying a new one but, because I had a motorcycle stolen last month, all the insurance prices with theft cover are going skyrocket (> 2,000€ per year!!!) I looked at the different alarm systems for motorcycles out there but none of them seem to be a perfect fit as they either don't work very well underground or inside a truck (usually thieves load motorcycles in a truck and simply drive away with it). So I thought that, at least when my motorcycle is parked at home, I could have an alarm which would not be on the bike but rather in my garage...

The project Build an alarm that would detect if the motorcycle is moved away from its parking space. And that would notify me ASAP so I can come down and see what's going on.

For the "connector" I thought of several solutions (in order of preference):

• A RFID tag placed on the motorcycle and a reader on the wall

• as soon as the reader looses sight of the tag, alarm is kicked off

• ideally, the alarm would be activated automatically once the tag is in range

• A little sensor on the ground which is placed underneath the motorcycle

• must be resistant to support 200kg though

• ideally, the alarm would be activated automatically once the motorcycle has been on the sensor for one minute

• An infrared sensor

• would need to be activated manually I guess

• would detect once it looses sight of the other part of the sensor placed on the motorbike

• Another kind of sensor that would work? Any idea?

In order of preference I would like the notifications to be either (or all):

• Call me on my mobile
  • Send a SMS on my mobile