Project Feasibility Question

Hi Everyone,

I am a total Newby when it comes to all things Arduino, but I am hoping that the experts in this forum might be able to assist me.

To give you a basic idea of what I want to do...

I have a 1990 Volkswagen Jetta GLI Wolfsburg Edition that I am restoring. One of the things that I wanted to add was an LCD display that will power up when the ignition is turned on and display a series of pre-programmed messages. I can solder and write code once I have a basic template to follow, but I am sincerely hoping that someone on this forum might be kind enough to help me take this crazy idea and bring it to fruition.

If it comes right down to it, I'd even be willing to pay someone to do this for me....but I am totally willing to give it the old college try.

Any assistance that you folks can provide would be greatly appreciated!

Best regards,

Pete

I built a car computer, single board, 30 years ago that ran for 10 years.

What's the first obstacles?
Find a 12 volt (13.4) to 5 volt converter. Almost any Arduino would do.
Any sensors, picking up info from the car somewhere?

Thanks for the quick reply.

The car already has an onboard trip computer....the engine management software (CIS-E/Moronic) runs through a diagnostic routine every time the car is started....what I am wanting to do is just have the Arduino display come on with the ignition, display the VW logo and then display a series of messages....it won't be connected to the ECM directly, but it will display what the ECM is doing in the background.

Pure luck, late here....
Does the car have that communication port, OBD? There are plenty of projects done reading info from there. Search for "Arduino + OBD".

The car does not have an OBD port.

Basically, what I am trying to do is have the screen power up with the ignition, display the VW Logo, display a series of messages and then display the VW logo...no direct connection to the ECM....

That's doable and a lot easier.