Project Feasibility

Hello all,

First off, please forgive my ignorance, I just started reading about arduino as I think it can really simplify my life for the type of work I do.

I am a general IT consultant. I do a lot of ‘out of the box’ projects that most would not take on. My most recent project was a physical sound board for an educational learning center that wouls play animal sounds depending on the button pushed. Lots of fun for the kids. To accomplish this project I actually went with a PC to drive the intelligence and MAME controls for the buttons.

After a lot of reading I am coming to the conclusion that I could possibly do all this and then some utilizing Arduino. I do have a bit of coding background although I have never used arduino. I have played with Pi’s and sketch and all that fun stuff too.

What I am looking for is a piece of intellegence that can have the flexibility to be used for different projects without the overhead of a PC.

My next project is going to be a simple sound board with 6 button on it. There will be a name tag next to each button that will have the name of an animal with a question. Once the button is pressed it will illuminate an LED on the board for x seconds, and then play wave file A followed by wave file B, and then the LED will de-illuminate.

I have attached a basic overview of the function. The idea is an interactive display for young kids for another education center.

I would like to know if this is something the Arduino can handle, and if so, can I get some references as to which articles I should read up on to familiarize myself with the programming of the arduino as well as the electrical engineering side of the machine itself.

I did play with the ScratchX beta program a bit and I can see where the logic seems to be present in that application, but I hate to make purchases based on assumptions.

If it works well I may replace my existing PC setup on my other sound board with an arduino too.